Fort Fisher

Fort Fisher
Fort Fisher, NE Bastion. Frank Vizetelly (National Geographic)

Thursday, January 7, 2016

Lightships Off the Southern Coast

From Civil War Talk by Bil R.

The Confederates seized Union light vessels to prevent the Federals from using them.

Before the war, there were 24 stations in Southern waters maintained by light stations.

Southern Station names were:  Willoughby's Spot, York Spit, Wolf Trap, Wind Mill Point, Bowler's Rock, Smith Point, Lower Cedar Point, Roanoke River, Roanoke Island, Long Shoal, Royal Shoal, Harbor island, Brant island Shoal, Neuse River, Frying Pan Shoal (by Wilmington, the Arctic's station), Horseshoe Shoal, Rattlesnake Shoal, Combahee Bank, Martin's Industry, Calibouge Sound, Tybee Island Knoll, Dames Point, Merrill's Shell Bank and Galveston.

Ship names included Spencer, Legare, McLane and Arctic.

--Old B-Runner

No comments:

Post a Comment